20130202-222111.jpg

Little by little, piece by piece, our nursery is coming together.

The walls adorned with bright and happy green stripes give a feeling of whimsy and delight. We chose colours that made us smile. Something bright and exciting. Both shades of green are from within the same palette and have undertones of yellow. These stripes adorn two walls and the lighter shade along the other two. Not to mention there’s a tree on one section and owls around the room.

20130202-222804.jpg

Slowly the furniture is making its way into the house. So far only the storage cubes have been put together (and the swing, but that’s not exactly furniture). They are a grouping of three by three squares in white and we plan on getting canvas pull out cubes in bright colours to store nick nacks.

We’ve purchased our crib, which we will be assembling tomorrow, and it’s a cherry wood colour. I hate the idea of matchy matchy furniture, so we decided against getting a nursery set. The dresser is from ikea (the Hemnes chest) and is white but I’m planning to replace the knobs with crystal pulls! I thought it would be a perfect spot to use as our change table too.

We got an amazingly comfortable dark brown lazyboy rocker/recliner rather than a glider and I couldn’t be happier with that decision. It looks so much more put together and is incredibly comfy.

From there, we had a little ikea side table that we’ve decided to refinish in a bright blue for the room, just to add a pop of colour.

I’m very excited for our great big white faux fur throw rug. Super soft and luxurious feeling and adds a nice texture change to the room. All of our fabrics were ordered from Carousel in the states and follow the same palette that we fell in love with, bright and happy colours.

20130202-223707.jpg

I’ll be making the curtains, crib skirt, two blankies, recovering the ottoman, and creating an onslaught of different sized pillows. I wouldn’t call myself a great seamstress, but I am surprisingly agile with a sewing machine. After all, it is all just geometry and math, and that’s how my brain functions, shapes and numbers.

The finishing touch on the nursery will be a crystal chandelier! I’m well aware that all of these little details are for me and not for the baby, but if I’m happy in the room, chances are baby will be too.

I can’t wait to get started really putting things together. Only 3 months to go now!

I will keep you updated on the progress of the room with photos along the way. I hope you enjoy my vision as much as I do!