Image

Never work a day in your life.

If you can find it, the thing that you love to do more than anything in the world, hold onto it with all your strength. It might take you a while to figure out what that thing is, but trust me, when you have found it, you’ll know.

How do I know I’ve found it? I get to spread my love for yoga…. as a career! I love to see the joy on people’s faces, the exhales of accomplishment, and the all-out blissed expressions when people start to feel what I feel about yoga.

Yoga is the only thing in the whole world that makes me feel strong and soft at the same time. I get to find this glorious power from somewhere deep within myself while at the same time surrendering to the knowledge that the extent of my posture and understanding is nowhere close to the finish line, or that there really never is a finish line.

So what makes you feel this way?

What would you volunteer to do? Head out every day without even having to collect a pay cheque? That’s how much you need to love it. That’s your dharma.

I think people are frightened of pursuing what makes them happy because we are conditioned from kindergarten to believe that everyone needs a “real job”. But my question is, who decided what counts as a real job? Not everyone is cut out for law school. Who wants to be an accountant (other than people who really love numbers… like my mom…. baffles me). And personally I’ve never been able to understand the love of putting on a suit and trudging downtown everyday. BUT, if that’s what you love, then that’s what you are meant to do. The problem comes when people have no idea what they are supposed to be in grade twelve and pick a random career because they know someone who knows someone who does  that and thinks it’s okay. Then you spend the next four years (or more) training to do that job, and you end up dreading Mondays.

This is why we see so many people hit a point in their lives where they leave their jobs, marriages, entire lives, and become a whole new person. A mid-life crisis we call it? I think it’s just a wake up call. Literally. You wake up one day a realize that you’re not the person you thought you would be, and some people are no longer willing to live with their choices.

Now, in no way am I condoning that people run off and leave their families behind, but I do think it’s healthy to take time to evaluate your life. And if you can, allow yourself to slowly reinvent the aspects that you’re not happy with.

Take a moment. Now. Stop and think about the things in life that make you truly happy. And now figure out ways to add more of those things, and less of the tasks in life. If you hate your job, find a new one. Go back to school, retrain, become whom ever it is you dream of being.

Whatever you want to be, start now. It’s never too late. Seriously. Change the way you think about yourself to reflect what you truly wish to become.

“The decisions you make everyday turn you into who you’re going to be tomorrow.” Chris Hadfield (quoted from an amazing interview earlier today, you should read it. http://www.insidehalton.com/news/article/1567199–chris-hadfield-delights-students-from-space)