Image

I think we all have them. Those days that start off promising but promptly roll down hill the moment you leave the cozy cave of your covers. Well today… that was me. No matter what I did I couldn’t shake this feeling of unrest. Surprisingly tired. No motivation. Ugh.

At least I wasn’t alone in my plight. Greg was just as miserable as I was all day. We’ve been getting to bed late and waking up early trying to get everything done around the house. Our waking moments are filled to the brim lately, and it’s taking it’s toll.

Is this what it’s going to be like for the rest of my life?!

I had this thought today as I sat curled up on the couch with a comfy blanket and a sloth-like demeanor. We are so tired from two weeks of less sleep than normal. So run down and exhausted almost (though I blame some of that on growing a human being). It’s never going to get better than this though… as soon as our little girl is here, the little sleep that we do get will be interrupted, and far shorter than it is now. Ugh. At least the next few months will come as some sort of training. Weening our bodies off the luxury of eight hours and slowly trying to prepare for the inevitable doom that is late night feedings, diaper changes and general unruliness of a newborn gremlin… uh… I mean baby.

So today instead of forcing myself out of my little funk, I embraced it. I used my grumpy need for solitude to clean the bathrooms and reorganize some of the chaos from renos. I took the dog for an obscenely long walk. Best of all, I stopped judging my desire to rest. I just accepted that today would be a couch type of day. My body is tired, and considering the construction work being performed 24 hours a day in my uterus, I figure I can veg every now and again. This is basically the last time I will have the option to cuddle in my favorite blanket with turtle ice cream and watch Buffy re-runs. So I’ll take it. I’ll take all of it!